Australia NRC Bitcoin Sports Betting

Founded in 2014, the National Rugby Championship is Australia’s professional rugby union competition that has nine active teams. Fans of the sporting event are now able to bet on teams like Brisbane City, Queensland Country, Sydney Rays, and Perth Spirit just to name a few. Below are the upcoming betting odds for the next Australia NRC games.

Best Bitcoin Australia NRC Betting Websites: Crypto Sport Betting

- x3 Welcome Bonus!
- 24/7 Live Chat

- Not US Friendly

Onehash Bitcoin Sportsbook

-100% Deposit Match Bonus
- US Friendly!

- Pretty new site

CloudBet Bitcoin Casino and Sportsbook

- 100% Cash Bonus
- Great Odds
- Established Sportsbook

- Not US Friendly

[get_bit_html id=’32’ name=’Australia NRC Sportsbook Odds’ date=’648000′ hide_empty=’1′ event=’Australia NRC’ hide_match_empty=’1′]


The National Rugby Championship, or NRC, is Australia’s highest national rugby competition. Managed directly by the Australian Rugby Union, it will be held for the first time in 2014 and will feature nine teams, eight Australian teams and a Fijian team. It serves as an antechamber for Australian franchises competing in Super Rugby.


The competition begins at the end of August, following the championships of the various states, and ends in November. Each team plays four times at home and four times away. The top four qualify for the semi-finals which take place on the top two field; the final takes place on the highest ranked field of the two finalists. Launch of the competition with the captains of the nine teams entered in 2014.


The tournament is organised by the Australian Rugby Union (ARU). At least one match is broadcast live each week on the Fox Sports channel.

History of the event

The ARU announced in December 2013 the creation of a club competition, below international matches and Super Rugby, to allow Australian players to continue to play at a high level once the Super Rugby season is over and to develop a sufficient pool of players to continue to compete internationally with New Zealand and South Africa. As such, it must play the same role as the Mitre 10 Cup in New Zealand and the Currie Cup in South Africa. Eleven applications were proposed, nine were finally selected. The franchises were granted to investors for two years.

In 2007, ARU had already launched a similar competition, the Australian Rugby Championship, which was abandoned after only one season due to heavy financial losses. Four teams, dormant at that time, are part of the new company (Rams, Rays, Spirit, Vikings), three others were launched in reference to their predecessors, although they are new entities (Brisbane City, Stars, Queensland Country).

Wishing to popularize their championship, the organizers chose to organize the meetings in different cities in different regions. They also won the right to organise two international match-ups: the 4th matchday of the inaugural season between Queensland Country and North Harbour was organised as the curtain-raiser of the Rugby Championship match between Australia and Argentina at the Cbus Super Stadium in Gold Coast, while Brisbane City and the Canberra Vikings competed for the 9th day before the match between Australia and New Zealand at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane.

The first season ends on November 1, 2014 with Brisbane City’s victory over the Perth Spirit 37-26. Brisbane repeated the following year by dominating Canberra 21-10.

In 2016, it was decided to disband the Sydney Stars, although they were semi-finalists in 2015, because the Sydney area was considered too poor in players to have four competitive teams1. As a result, the University of Sydney, which formed the basis of the club’s organization, joined the New South Wales Country Eagles.

Also in 2016, the North Harbour Rays became the Sydney Rays.

ARU announced in October 2016 that a Fiji team will join the competition for four seasons starting in 2017, bringing the number of teams entered to nine. It will be composed of some 30 players from the national reserve team, called “Fiji Warriors” or “Fiji A”, and will play its matches at home in Fiji 2. The project, personally led by the Prime Minister of the archipelago Frank Bainimarama, is funded by the Fiji Rugby Union and World Rugby. If successful, Fiji could establish a franchise for Super Rugby. This team was finally announced in July 2017 and bears the name “Fijian Drua”, the drua being a traditional double canoe used in naval battles. Third at the end of their first season, the Drua reached the semi-finals, where they were beaten by the future winner Queensland Country. They are crowned the following season against the same opponent.

Selection of teams

All Australian players participating in Super Rugby are involved in the NRC. A quota system ensures that these are mixed with the best hopes from the clubs, which have the opportunity to progress. The Australian National Team has priority if a match test is held during the competition, but any unselected players are available to their NRC team.

Rules and regulations

The Australian federation has obtained permission from World Rugby to apply experimental rules for this competition in order to enhance the value of attacking play. These rules, which came into force for the 2014 season, have been retained for the 2015 season. Among them:

  • The transformation of a test is worth 3 points (instead of 2), thus making the test transformed to 8 points.
  • The penalty is worth 2 points (instead of 3).
  • The drop-goal is worth 2 points (instead of 3).
  • After a try, the striker has 60 seconds to try the transformation (instead of 90 seconds).
  • An offensive bonus point is awarded to the team scoring at least three more attempts than the opponent (system used in France. Elsewhere, any team scoring at least four tries scores an additional point).

Horan-Little Shield

It is a competition organised in a challenging way like the Ranfurly Shield in New Zealand. The trophy is a shield named after two great Australian players, Tim Horan and Jason Little, who played together at the centre from youth teams to the 1991 World Championship title with the Australian team, and symbolising friendship. Any team that holds it automatically puts it back into play when it plays at home. If a team with which she travels challenges her, she can refuse or accept to defend it. However, after two consecutive home wins, the shield is inevitably put back into play, even if the match is away. Only the team that holds him at the end of the season has his name engraved on the trophy.

Melbourne Rising was the first team to win as the best team after the regular phase of the inaugural season in 2014. Brisbane City then won it and defended it victoriously five times in 2015.