Sweden Superettan Bitcoin Sports Betting

The second-tier of the Swedish football system, the Superettan has 16 active teams in the league. Fans of the league are now able to place Bitcoin wagers on teams like Dalkurd, Degerfors, Falkenberg, GAIS, Gefle, Helsingborg, Frej, Varberg, and a lot more! Please take advantage of our betting odds provided below for the next Superettan game.

Best Bitcoin Sweden Superettan Betting Websites:

Sportsbet.io Crypto Sport Betting

- x3 Welcome Bonus!
- 24/7 Live Chat

- Not US Friendly

Onehash Bitcoin Sportsbook

-100% Deposit Match Bonus
- US Friendly!

- Pretty new site

CloudBet Bitcoin Casino and Sportsbook

- 100% Cash Bonus
- Great Odds
- Established Sportsbook

- Not US Friendly

[get_bit_html id=’31’ name=’Sweden Superettan Sportsbook Odds’ date=’648000′ hide_empty=’1′ event=’Sweden Superettan’ hide_match_empty=’1′]


Superettan is the second highest league in Swedish football.


Before the Allsvenskan was introduced as the first league in 1924, there were regional league championships, the winners of which were the Swedish champions. These regional leagues initially remained as a foundation for the Allsvenskan, the champions played the two promoted to the elite series in promotion games.

As early as 1928, a new substructure was introduced in the form of the second division, then known as Division 2. In the beginning, the league consisted of 20 teams, which competed in two regional teams of ten clubs each, Division 2 Södra and Division 2 Norra. In 1932 two further squadrons were added under the names Division 2 Östra and Division 2 Västra, so that a total of 40 teams played in the second league. The four champions of the leagues had to determine the two promoted to the Allsvenskan in deciding games.

In the 1946/47 season, the number of relays and thus also the number of clubs was reduced again. Again ten teams each played in Division 2 Nordöstra and Division 2 Sydvästra for the promotion to the Allsvenskan. The champions rose directly, so that the former ascent games were omitted.

1953 saw the next change in the league system, as Sweden as a whole was now covered. The previously excluded clubs from northern Sweden, which had not been considered for economic reasons mainly because of the long travel distances, were allowed to participate in the upper Swedish leagues. Division 2 was expanded again and 30 teams in three seasons played for the elite series. This also resulted in three promoted teams. However, the division was soon criticised as the Götaland region, from which more than half of the clubs in Sweden came, was not taken into account. After two seasons, a fourth season was added, with two seasons hosting clubs from Götaland. This meant that deciding matches were necessary again and the number of promoted teams was again reduced to two.

In the 1957/58 season, the season was changed from autumn/spring to calendar year. The season was therefore extended to one and a half years, so that the teams had to play against each other in three competitive matches. From 1960 onwards, the four championships teams played against each other in a group with one match each, with the first two rising to the top.

In the early 1970s, the league underwent another major reform. At the end of the 1971 season, the number of squadrons was reduced to three, with twelve teams competing for promotion. The promotion games were dropped again, the three champions were sent to Allsvenskan. In the following season there were only two seasons with 14 teams each, but again only two promoted teams.

In 1981, the first two leagues were reduced from 14 teams each to twelve clubs. The Swedish association decided that there would be no direct relegation from Allsvenskan and no direct promotion. The two last placed teams competed in relegation matches against the champions, with the teams from the first division, IF Elfsborg and Kalmar FF, winning each time. At the same time, the last four teams in both second division squadrons were directly relegated, while the two clubs in front also played in relegation matches. In the years that followed, the two top-ranked teams competed against the Allsvenskan’s four lowest ranked teams in relegation matches. In 1984, the second leagues were increased again to 14 teams and the promotion between the champion and the second in the other season was played out.

The league structure in Sweden was revised in 1987. For the first leagues this did not mean any structural difference, but the name changed. The first league was officially named Allsvenskan. The second league was renamed Division 1, the third league Division 2 and so on. As in the previous times, when there were only two seasons, the promotion resulted again from the achievement of the second league championship title.

In 1991 the second league was again fundamentally reformed. Once again there were four squadrons, but this time only eight clubs played in each squadron. At the end of the summer round, the four champions, together with the four Allsvenskan’s top-ranked teams, competed in the so-called Kvalsvenskan to play out three of these eight teams as qualified clubs for the Allsvenskan’s next season. The last player in the table was relegated to Division 2. The remaining teams played again in four seasons in the autumn series each one champion and two other relegated teams. These four champions competed against each other in elimination matches, with the winner of these games playing fourth-placed Kvalsvenskan for the last place in Allsvenskan. After two seasons, the system was abandoned again and two relays with 14 teams each were introduced. The champions were promoted directly, while the runners-up of the table played in relegation matches against the third and fourth last of the Allsvenskan.

At the end of the 1999 season, the two squadrons Norrettan and Söderettan were combined, so that from the 2000 season a uniform second league comprising 16 teams was established under the name Superettan. In addition, each of the six poorly placed teams was relegated to the third league, now known as Division 1. From then on, the two first-placed teams rose directly to the top of the league, with the third-placed team in the table playing in relegation matches against the third-last in Allsvenskan.

During the next reform of the Swedish league system in 2005, in which for example the third league was combined in two seasons, the Superettan as well as the Allsvenskan was not affected.


The league consists of 16 professional and semi-professional teams. Two teams are promoted to the Allsvenskan, a third team plays relegation matches against the third last team of the highest division.

The teams in 15th and 16th place are directly relegated to the third division and are replaced by the respective winners of Division 1 Norra and Division 1 Södra. The teams in 13th and 14th place play relegation matches against the two runners-up in the two seasons of Division 1. As with all Nordic leagues, the Superettan season runs from spring to autumn, which is why seasons are not called the 1996/97 season as in the German-speaking countries, for example, but simply the 1997 season (Swedish Säsong).