South Africa PSL Bitcoin Sports Betting

The PSL or Premier Soccer League is a national sports commission that is responsible for administering two football leagues in South Africa, which is the South African Premier Division and National First Division. Games under the PSL are now available to be bet on with the use of Bitcoins. Below are the available betting odds for the next PSL game.

Best Bitcoin South Africa PSL Betting Websites: Crypto Sport Betting

- x3 Welcome Bonus!
- 24/7 Live Chat

- Not US Friendly

Onehash Bitcoin Sportsbook

-100% Deposit Match Bonus
- US Friendly!

- Pretty new site

CloudBet Bitcoin Casino and Sportsbook

- 100% Cash Bonus
- Great Odds
- Established Sportsbook

- Not US Friendly

[get_bit_html id=’31’ name=’South Africa PSL Sportsbook Odds’ date=’648000′ hide_empty=’1′ event=’South Africa PSL’ hide_match_empty=’1′]
The National Soccer League organises professional football in South Africa under the name Premier Soccer League (PSL). It consists of the Premier Division and a single-track second division, the First Division. The National Soccer League is a special member of SAFA. Its Chief Executive Officer (CEO) is the Norwegian Kjetil Siem. The average earnings of a PSL professional in 2014 were 11,000 Rand (about 800 Euro) per week.

Today’s league principle

16 teams play out the South African football champion, who qualifies for the CAF Champions League together with the runners-up. The third and the cup winner start in the CAF Confederation Cup. The last in the league relegates to the “First Division”, the penultimate plays with the second and third in the second league a relegation tournament for the PSL.

Stadiums and spectator numbers

Since the 2010 World Cup, some Premier Soccer League teams have had very modern stadiums that have been converted or rebuilt for the World Cup. One example is the Orlando Pirates, which hosts most of the home matches in the final stadium Soccer City, which has a capacity of 94,700 seats. But despite the good infrastructure, the number of spectators is rather low. In the 2009/2010 season, the average audience of the league was only 7500 spectators on average, but this figure has not increased significantly since the World Cup.

Television marketing and sponsorship

The Premier Soccer League is the financially strongest football league on the African continent. This is mainly due to the television contract with the broadcasters Super Sport (Pay-TV) and SABC (Free-TV), which guarantees the league 160 million euros per season. There are only six football leagues worldwide that receive higher revenues.

Absa Bank has been the league’s name sponsor since 2007, which is why the league officially calls itself ABSA Premiership. From 1996 to 2007 the Castle Brewery (owned by Kompania Piwowarska) was the official sponsor.


The First Division, also known as the National First Division, is the second highest professional class in South African football. Like the PSL, it was played for the first time in the 1996/97 season.

Season 1996/97

In the 1996/97 season, the NFD was still divided into four groups. There were the groups Western Cape, Natal Eastern Cape, Northern and Southern. While sixteen teams played in the Western Cape and Natal Eastern Cape groups, the Northern and Southern groups consisted of twenty-two teams. The four champions of their respective squadrons played in a relegation tournament for the two promotion places.

Season 1997-2004

Just one year later, the NFD system was changed. The four staves were decimated to two. For the first time it consisted of the two sections Coastal Stream with the teams from the coastal region and Inland Stream with teams from the inland. In the 1997/98 season both squadrons still consisted of twenty teams, from 1998 the Coastal Stream squadron of fourteen and the Inland Stream squadron of sixteen teams. The respective champions of the two squadrons rose directly into the PSL, the last or sometimes the last two or three relegated. In the 2003/04 season, the six worst teams from the Coastal Stream squadron and the eight worst teams from the Inland Stream squadron had to relegate in view of the restructuring in the summer of 2004.

Season 2004-2007

In the summer of 2004, the two squadrons were combined into a national league for the first time and the league was known as the Mvela Golden League after a sponsor. It consisted of sixteen teams. The champion was promoted directly to the PSL, while the second, third and fourth, together with the penultimate of the PSL, fought in a relegation tournament for the last free place in the PSL. The last two teams or the last four teams in the 2004/05 season relegated.

Season 2007-2011

Starting in 2007, the league again consisted of two divisions, the Coastal Stream with the teams from the coastal region and the Inland Stream with teams from the interior. Each of the two leagues had eight participants. The winners of the two leagues played against each other at the end of the season to determine their first promotion to the Premier Division. The loser of this “final” played with the two runners-up and the 15th of the Premier Division in a relegation tournament for the last place in the top division.

Since the season 2011/12

According to the league, the system with two seasons was unattractive, especially for sponsors. It was therefore decided to combine the two squadrons, each with eight teams, into a single-track league from the 2011/12 season. In addition, the maximum number of foreign players allowed per club was limited from five to three and a minimum number of South African players under the age of 23 was set. This is at five players per club and is mainly justified by the fact that, instead of the many South African veterans who often let their careers end in the First Division, young talents will be given the opportunity to play, which should provide the basis for a strong national team in the future. While the top of the league moves directly to the PSL, the second and third in the league, along with the penultimate in the PSL, will play in a relegation tournament for the last free place in the PSL.