England EFL Trophy Bitcoin Sports Betting

The English Football Trophy is a yearly league event open to 48 football clubs in the EFL League One and EFL League Two, respectively the third and fourth levels of the English football league ladder. The event was founded in 1983 and has been providing awesome games every year. Take advantage of the provided game odds listed below and bet on your favorite home team!

Best Bitcoin England EFL Trophy Betting Websites:

Sportsbet.io Crypto Sport Betting

- x3 Welcome Bonus!
- 24/7 Live Chat

- Not US Friendly

Onehash Bitcoin Sportsbook

-100% Deposit Match Bonus
- US Friendly!

- Pretty new site

CloudBet Bitcoin Casino and Sportsbook

- 100% Cash Bonus
- Great Odds
- Established Sportsbook

- Not US Friendly

[get_bit_html id=’31’ name=’England EFL Trophy Sportsbook Odds’ date=’648000′ hide_empty=’1′ event=’England EFL Trophy’ hide_match_empty=’1′]


The Football League Trophy since 2016 EFL Trophy is a cup competition in English football and is played between the clubs of the bottom two leagues of the English Football League. The official name of the competition changed frequently due to changes of main sponsors. Between 2000 and 2006, the trophy was played as LDV Vans Trophy, then from 2006 to 2016 as Johnstone’s Paint Trophy. The name Associate Members’ Cup is also commonly used, although it refers to the outdated and no longer existing distinction between full members and Football League partners.

The record winner is Bristol City with three successes. Carlisle United has the highest number of finalists (two victories, four defeats).

Currently, all Football League One and Football League Two clubs as well as selected invited clubs from the Nationwide Conference compete in the EFL Trophy and play out their winners in simple matches in a northern and southern region in the knockout system. The two regional winners will then compete against each other at Wembley Stadium to determine the cup winner. As Wembley Stadium has since been converted, the finals took place between 2001 and 2006 at Millennium Stadium, located in Cardiff, Wales.

The competition for Third Division and Fourth Division clubs, as the leagues were called until 1992, originated in the 1983/84 season, after a number of attempts to compensate for the loss of the Anglo-Scottish Cup in 1981. In the subsequent Football League Group Trophy in 1982, Grimsby Town won at home against FC Wimbledon in Blundell Park in the final and FC Millwall in an away match against Lincoln City at Sincil Bank in 1983.

The basic problem in the competition, in which 48 clubs participate, was always the unfavourable number, because one is clearly away from the 2-potencies 32 and 64. To solve this, groups of three teams were formed in the first round, all playing against each other. Another option was to give away the free tickets to higher-ranking clubs in the second round. The increase in the number of additional invitations for amateur clubs from eight to twelve clubs (instead of the required 16 clubs) has not yet completely solved the problem either. Currently, two clubs from each region have a walk-through in the first round.

The competition is not considered very important by many clubs, with the result that often higher-ranking clubs lose to weaker clubs, especially in the first rounds. The Football League Trophy is also often denied attention by club supporters, which means that spectator numbers are often below average. For example, in November 2005, a match between Peterborough United and Swindon Town attracted only 969 spectators (an average of around 4500).

The cup competition suffered a further setback in public recognition in March 2006 and even turned into a farce when the company LDV Limited withdrew as sponsor and it was clear that no prize money would be paid to either of the two finalists. On the Website of LDV was recruited however up to May of the yearly further with the competition. The final took place then under the simple title Football League Trophy and there the football League announced that one looks for a new sponsor. In May 2006, the Football League introduced Johnstone’s Paint as its future partner, providing financial support for the competition and acting as a new namesake.

Since the Football League changed its name to English Football League (EFL) in 2016, the Trophy has also found a new sponsor. The name was changed to Checkatrade Trophy.

Sponsor designations

Associate Members’ Cup (1983-1984)
Freight Rover Trophy (1984-1987)
Sherpa Van Trophy (1987-1989)
Leyland DAF Cup (1989-1991)
Car Glass Trophy (1991-1994)
Car Windscreens Shield (1994-2000)
LDV Vans Trophy (2000-2006)
Johnstone’s Paint Trophy (2006-2016)
Checkatrade Trophy (since 2016)