CONMEBOL Copa Libertadores Bitcoin Sports Betting

Officially named CONMEBOL Copa Libertadores Bridgestone 2017 due to sponsorship deals, this tournament has been held every year since 1960 and we are currently in its 58th year. Fans of the sporting event are now able to bet on their favorite teams that qualified from countries Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, and a couple more. Below are the upcoming betting odds for Copa Libertadores.

Best Bitcoin CONMEBOL Copa Libertadores Betting Websites: Crypto Sport Betting

- x3 Welcome Bonus!
- 24/7 Live Chat

- Not US Friendly

Onehash Bitcoin Sportsbook

-100% Deposit Match Bonus
- US Friendly!

- Pretty new site

CloudBet Bitcoin Casino and Sportsbook

- 100% Cash Bonus
- Great Odds
- Established Sportsbook

- Not US Friendly

[get_bit_html id=’31’ name=’CONMEBOL Copa Libertadores Sportsbook Odds’ date=’648000′ hide_empty=’1′ event=’CONMEBOL Copa Libertadores’ hide_match_empty=’1′]


The CONMEBOL Libertadores or Copa Libertadores is the most important South American club football competition, comparable to the European Champions League. Originally played from 1960 to 1964 as Copa Campeones de América. Until 2016 it was played from January to August. The competition is organized by the South American Football Association (CONMEBOL). Mexican teams also took part from 1998 to 2016. The winner qualifies for the FIFA Club World Cup and the forthcoming Copa Libertadores, and will face the winner of the Copa Sudamericana for the Recopa Sudamericana, the counterpart to the UEFA Super Cup.


With the Campeonato Sudamericano de Campeones 1948 in Santiago in Chile a first attempt took place to establish a competition of the champions of South America. Today he is considered the forerunner of the Copa Libertadores and was officially recognised as such by CONMEBOL in 1996. This recognition enabled the former winner CR Vasco da Gama to take part in the Supercopa Sudamericana 1997, a competition in which all the clubs that had been successful in the Libertadores until then took part.

For many years the name of a commercial sponsor has been part of the official name of the competition. The competition was called Copa Toyota Libertadores from 1998 to 2007, Copa Santander Libertadores from 2008 to 2012 and Bridgestone’s main sponsor from 2013 to 2017.


Over time, the mode has been changed several times. In the beginning it was played in the pure K.-o. system, later a group phase was added. As well as the number and strength of the groups, the number of clubs per country also varied. Until the 1980s, goal difference played no role in equal scores in the group or in the knockout rounds, but a deciding match was played. At the beginning of the 1990s, the goal difference was the deciding factor when points were equal. If this was the same, the final matches were no longer decisive, but, as is customary in South America, a penalty shootout took place immediately after the return match.

From 2005 to 2016, 38 teams were allowed to participate in the tournament. The South American Football Association has decided to reform the competition in 2017. In future, the competition will be held all year round and the number of participants will rise to 44 clubs from ten nations. The Copa Libertadores is expected to start in late January, early February and end in December.

Participants will be the top six each from Argentina and Brazil as well as the Brazilian Cup winner, the top four from Chile, Colombia and the top three from Bolivia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela. The defending champion qualifies directly for the group stage. Last year’s Copa Sudamericana winner will be added to the field. Three places are currently vacant due to the withdrawal from the Mexican competition. A further change will take place in 2019. The winner of the final will then no longer be determined in the first leg and return leg, but only in one game.

28 teams are directly qualified for the group stage. Sixteen teams will play in a qualifying round for the remaining places in the group stage.

The teams participating in the group stage play six games (three at home, three away) in eight groups of four teams each. The winners and runners-up reach the round of sixteen and from then on determine the winner in the knockout system with outward and return matches. In the final, the away goals rule is suspended. The final is also the only round in which there is extra time. The matches in the knockout phase are not drawn by lot, but allocated on the basis of the performances during the group phase. The semi-finals are excluded. If two teams from one country take part in this phase, they will play against each other, regardless of their position, in order to avoid a purely national final.

In the 2018 season, video proof was introduced from the quarter-finals onwards.