Colombia Liga Aguila Bitcoin Sports Betting

The Categoría Primera A or commonly called Liga Aguila, due to a sponsorship, is Colombia’s premier Football tournament. The Colombian league was ranked 11th as the strongest national league in the world back in 2015, making this tournament a must bet for all bettors from around the world. Bet on teams like Alianza Petrolera, Deportivo Cali, Deportivo Pasto, Envigado, Jaguares, and more than a dozen more options to choose from. Below are the upcoming odds for Liga Aguila.

Best Bitcoin Colombia Liga Aguila Betting Websites: Crypto Sport Betting

- x3 Welcome Bonus!
- 24/7 Live Chat

- Not US Friendly

Onehash Bitcoin Sportsbook

-100% Deposit Match Bonus
- US Friendly!

- Pretty new site

CloudBet Bitcoin Casino and Sportsbook

- 100% Cash Bonus
- Great Odds
- Established Sportsbook

- Not US Friendly

[get_bit_html id=’31’ name=’Colombia Liga Aguila Sportsbook Odds’ date=’648000′ hide_empty=’1′ event=’Colombia Liga Aguila’ hide_match_empty=’1′]


A national Colombian football championship has only been held since 1948. The introduction of the professional league, today called Categoría Primera A, dates back to the initiative of Alfonso Senior Quevedo, the then president of the Colombian Football Association, who was also the first president of Los Millonarios. Previously there were only regional competitions, of which those in the capital Bogotá and in Barranquilla deserved the most attention.

The official name of the championship, organized by the Mayor’s Division of Professional Football in Colombia, from 1990 to 2009, was Copa Mustang, a tobacco company that sponsored the event. For the 2010 season, the name was changed to Liga Postobón after the new sponsor, the beverage brand Postobón. Since the 2015 season, the league has been named after a beer brand Liga Águila.

The championship trophy

The first championship began in August 1948 after the professional association founded as División Mayor del Fútbol Colombiano could be established as the organizing organization. The first champion was Independiente Santa Fe.

The league originally had ten clubs, but this number varied frequently in the early years. In 1959, the number of clubs stabilised at twelve for four years, rising to 13 in 1963 and 14 again in 1966.

The golden age of the Colombian Football Championship, known as “el dorado”, was between 1949 and 1953, when many top players from abroad played there. Especially several Argentine players – Alfredo Di Stéfano and Adolfo Pedernera at Millonarios are outstanding names here – were to be found in the league, since at that time various arguments in Argentine football persuaded many professionals to earn their money abroad. The Colombian league was the only one that accepted these players. At the time, the association was punished with exclusion from FIFA. This era came to an end with the “Lima Pact”, which provided for the return of foreigners to their original clubs and the reintegration of Colombia into the world league.

Since 1968, the Colombian championship has been divided into two semi-series championships, as is the case in many South American countries today. The first round, which is held from February to June, is called Apertura in Colombian. The second round, which takes place from July to December, is called Finalización in Colombia – in other South American countries the term Clausura is more common. After the half series, a Liguilla, “a small league”, of the leading teams was held until the year 2000 to determine the participants for the finally decisive participants of the championship in a play-off. At the beginning of the 2002 season, this will be abandoned and the semi-series champions will both be led as champions.

In 1991 a professional second league, the Primera B, was founded with 18 members. There has been promotion and relegation between the leagues since 1993, and since 2006 there has been a relegation between the penultimate of the first league and the second of the second league.

Since 2012, the two champions of one year have been playing the Supercup. In October 2014, the Mayor del Fútbol Profesional Colombiano decided to increase the number of teams in the first division to 20, while reducing the number of teams in the second division to 16. This was preceded by a decline in spectator numbers due to the relegation of many traditional clubs to the second division and the promotion of many newly formed teams that do not have a large fan base. The two additional promoted teams for the 2015 season will be determined in a separate promotion tournament of eight traditional second division teams. From the 2015 season, there will also be two direct promoted and relegated teams.


In a league consisting of 20 teams, everyone plays against each other once. On the tenth matchday, the “Clasicós”, games with Derby character, also take place. For example, in 2019 these were determined as follows:

  • América de Cali – Deportivo Cali
  • Independent Santa Fe – Millonarios FC
  • Atlético Nacional – Independent Medellín
  • Atlético Huila – Deportes Tolima
  • Rionegro Águilas – Envigado FC
  • Alianza Petrolera – Jaguares de Córdoba
  • Once Caldas – Deportivo Pasto
  • Unión Magdalena – Junior
  • La Equidad – Patriotas
  • Atlético Bucaramanga – Cúcuta Deportivo

Phase 2

The regular season is followed by a final round. Since the league was increased to 20 participants, it has mostly consisted of a knockout round for which the eight best placed clubs qualify. In the 2019 season, the eight top-ranked clubs will play the two finalists in two groups with outward and return legs, as in some cases already after 2002 in the so-called Cuadrangulares Semifinales.

Copa Libertadores

Each half series champion is automatically qualified for the Copa Libertadores. Two additional places will be awarded to the clubs with the highest scores after adding up all the points and goals scored in phases 1 and 2 of the first and second half series championships. If a club wins both half-series championships, the second Libertadores participant will be selected according to the same procedure as the other two participants.

Copa Sudamericana

Three Copa Sudamericana participants will be selected according to the same scheme as the third Libertadores participant: the three clubs behind them in the overall standings will qualify. A fourth place in the Copa Sudamericana will be determined by the cup competition. In the 2014 and 2015 seasons, one of the representatives was chosen by the Superliga de Colombia. Since the 2016 season, however, the same club can no longer qualify for both continental competitions, as they will be held in parallel from 2017.